Rules question

The forum name says it all. You're new to the game of craps and don't have a clue where to begin. Pass Line. Don't Pass. Come. Don't Come. Hardways. Big Six. Big Eight. The Horn. Good Grief! Sounds like back when you were trying to make a decision about what to do in the back seat on that first car date. Well never fear! There are a few folks around here who have spent enough time at the tables to be able to answer just about any question you may have. So step right up and get a clue!

Moderators: 22Inside, DarthNater

Post Reply
User avatar
coaster
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 2:49 pm
Location: Florida

Rules question

Post by coaster » Wed Aug 16, 2017 5:09 pm

On a recent trip the shooter to my right passed me the dice after he had set the point. I made the point then set and made two more. During my time shooting there was a stick change. After I rolled a seven out the stick sent the dice to the person to my left. Thinking that the stick was not aware the dice had been passed to me I asked why my turn to shoot was being given to the next shooter? I told him the dice were passed to me mid hand. He told me that since I made the point established by another player then set my own it had become my hand or turn to shoot and the dice went to the next shooter. The stick asked the box to confirm his ruling and of course the box backed his stick with a strange look on his face. Was this the correct interpretation of the rules? Thanks
Coaster

acpa
Posts: 763
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 10:45 am

Re: Rules question

Post by acpa » Wed Aug 16, 2017 6:05 pm

I've heard that before, but know what the rule is, or if the state or casino set the rule.

Noah

rhythm roller
Posts: 806
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 6:56 pm

Re: Rules question

Post by rhythm roller » Wed Aug 16, 2017 7:33 pm

Others may have better info but I have seen it go a few different ways at the tables over the years including the way you explained. I would guess it is casino and probably even crew dependent.
It does stop play but the one time it happened to me and I got the dice I asked the box man the rule to clarify before I started shooting. Obviously, I was not going to give up my turn no matter how they explained it but I did want to know up front how it would be handled. They seemed OK with me asking.
"The difference between try and triumph is a little umph."

User avatar
Bankerdude80
Posts: 1927
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 6:05 pm

Re: Rules question

Post by Bankerdude80 » Wed Aug 16, 2017 7:41 pm

They were winging it. They pretty much can make whatever call they want. Many properties will allow you to have a second hand right after you toss the hand that was passed to you. No clear cut "rule", more of a courtesy.
"Take the Money and Run...."
- Steve Miller Band

wild child
Posts: 1907
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:29 pm

Re: Rules question

Post by wild child » Wed Aug 16, 2017 10:39 pm

Personal observation : Far more hands end with a S/O in fewer than THREE rolls when a shooter abandons( yields)
the dice and another player finishes out the hand....Seems to more be "CREW SPECIFIC" than a carved in stone
if the "REPLACEMENT SHOOTER " who finished out that hand to the Seven Out or the dice pass in clockwise to
the next player....Only once when a player finished an abandoned hand , and they were offered to
"The next shooter",
have I witnessed ALL the other players
showing the class to keep the dice passing round an back to the player who completed the abandoned hand
after it was sent to the next available shooter.

w c

User avatar
heavy
Site Admin
Posts: 11652
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 11:46 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Rules question

Post by heavy » Thu Aug 17, 2017 1:18 am

My experience - if you seven out quickly after the dice are passed to you then you get them right back. If, as happened in your case, you make a pass, toss a bunch of numbers and maybe make another pass - forget about it. Not because of any rule. Simply because you are not the guy at the table they want handling the dice. You could always make a stink and ask a floor supervisor - and even ask for a copy of the dealer manual, which I understand by law in most states must be available to the public 24/7. But if it gets to that point there will be nothing but bad karma if you get the dice back, so why bother. Let's move along and keep the game going on an even keel.
"Get in, get up, and get gone."
- Heavy

User avatar
coaster
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 2:49 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Rules question

Post by coaster » Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:31 am

Yep Heavy, that was my thinking after the “strange face” from the box. I didn’t want all the bad mojo coming down on me from then on so after a quick question I insisted they move along and pass the dice. In all honesty I knew the guy shooting who passed the dice. He had just seen me toss a decent hand the previous time around the table. He happened to be a practiced shooter but his shot was a bit off since he had tossed three sevens during his come out (not trying to). I was just interested to know if there is a hard and fast solid rule or if it kind of is a make it up as you go kinda thing. Thanks guys, I’ll never ask for the dice back again. BTW a few of the other players did chime in and wanted me to shoot again and to tell the truth that thought was in my mind when I got the dice and as I was shooting. My fault, I need to stay focused on what matters not what if.
Coaster

User avatar
mssthis1
Posts: 1279
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 6:59 pm

Re: Rules question

Post by mssthis1 » Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:01 pm

I've seen it go both ways. IF you have a good stick person and something else doesn't distract them, they'll tell the person tapping in that you get to shoot again. If not, which is the majority of the time you are probably SOL.

User avatar
stratocasterman
Posts: 751
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 7:55 pm
Location: Manila, Philippines
Contact:

Re: Rules question

Post by stratocasterman » Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:34 pm

I think most places just continue with the natural order of things, rules or no rules.

Twice now, in two different casinos, I have been at SL1 and the dice came to SR1. SR1 made a point and THEN decided he didn't want to shoot at SR1 and MOVED to SL2. He proceeded to SO on the next toss. At that point, I SHOULD have got the dice next but, was PASSED by to SL straight out. I didn't verbally challenge but, raised my hands in the air with a WTF look on my face. Stick and box looked at me like I was stupid...go figure???
What Heavy said...
"Get in, get up, get gone"

Post Reply